Gwent League Logo

The John H Collins Gwent Cross Country League

Other Awards

The Gilbert Legge Award

George Crump and John Collins founded the Pontypool and District League. When John left Wales after one season because of work Gilbert came in as Secretary for the second season coincident with the name change to the Gwent Cross Country League, and this award is made in his memory. The award is voted for by the member clubs at the AGM, and goes to the club which has shown "Sportsmanship, Endeavour and Achievement".

The Sheila Crump Memorial Award

Sheila Crump was a stalwart volunteer ever since the League started. She worked in registration for many years after her husband George's death. This award is made in her memory to a volunteer who has contributed greatly to the League.


Season The Gilbert Legge Award The Sheila Crump Memorial Award
1977-78 Ferndale Lower Comprehensive
1981-82 Beddau A.C
1982-83 Aberdare Valley A.A.C.
1984-85 Ferndale Lower Comprehensive
1985-86 Carmarthen Harriers
1986-87 Les Croupiers Running Club
1897-88 City of Plymouth A.C.
1988-89 Great Western Runners
1989-90 Penair School, Truro
1992-93 Preseli Harriers
1993-94 Amman Valley Harriers
1994-95 Aberdare Valley A.A.C.
1995-96 Neath Harriers
1996-97 Forest of Dean A.C.
1997-98 Brecon A.C.
1999-00 North Devon A.C.
2000-01 Amman Valley Harriers
2001-02 Brackla Harriers
2002-03 Port Talbot Harriers
2003-04 Sarn Helen
2004-05 Les Croupiers Running Club
2005-06 Carmarthen Harriers
2006-07 Bridgend A.C. Hedydd Davies (Carmarthen Harriers)
2007-08 TROTs / Swansea Harriers Dave Saker (Bath University)
2008-09 Carmarthen Harriers John Collins (Swansea Harriers)
2009-10 Brecon A.C. Derek Williams (Les Croupiers R.C.)
2010-11 Westbury Harriers John Griffiths (Swansea Harriers)
2011-12 Les Croupiers Running Club Phil Court (Westbury Harriers)
2012-13 Bristol and West A.C. Colin Slocombe (Les Croupiers R.C.)
2013-14 Blaenau Gwent AC Gareth Protheroe (Brecon A.C.)
2014-15 Brecon A.C. Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers)
2015-16 Avon Valley Runners Fred Malkin (Barry and Vale A.C.)
2016-17 Parc Bryn Bach Brian Fox (Swansea Harriers)
2017-18 Carmarthen Harriers Geraint Torrington (Westbury Harriers)
2018-19 Parc Bryn Bach Martin and Jeanette Jenkins (Fairwater Harriers)
2019-20 North Somerset AC Jeff Aston (Les Croupiers)
2020-21 No races (Covid) 2019-20 Awards made at 2021 AGM
2021-22 Brecon AC Neil Miller (Westbury Harriers)
2022-23 Neath Harriers Dawne Meynell (Rhondda Valley)